Skip to content

Antique Camera Collecting. My First Vintage camera.

June 9, 2013

 

Kodak Brownie Hawkeye 620

Kodak Brownie Hawkeye 620

I started collecting antiques about 30 years ago when I stopped at a garage sale and spotted a vintage Kodak Brownie Hawkeye Camera. I bought the camera for $1.00. I thought it was the coolest thing and couldn’t wait to try it out. I tried it out and the pictures were great.  I was more ambitous then and film was more readily available so I used the Kodak from time to time for the next several years. At it’s core the Hawkeye 620 is a simple box camera in a great looking package.  The Brownie Hawkeye is a Bakelite camera taking 6x6cm images on 620 film, made in the USA and France by Kodak, between c.1949-1961

The original design did not have a flash facility, but the Flash model was added in 1950 and labeled Kodak Brownie Flash .

I was sold. I started looking at garage sales and flea markets and picked any bargains I could find. I now have hundreds of antique cameras and other collections including, antique fountain pens, vintage cigarette lighters, but the Kodak Brownie Hawkeye 620 was the start of it all.

 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

